Parliament Website

200th Anniversary Of Glasgow Botanic Gardens

EDM number 4 in 2017-19, proposed by Patrick Grady on 21/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Environmental protection and Leisure.

That this House congratulates Glasgow's Botanic Gardens on celebrating its 200th anniversary; understands that the Botanic Gardens was established in 1817 by the Royal Botanical Institution of Glasgow, founded by Thomas Hopkirk, in the Sandyford area of the city before moving to its present site on the banks of the River Kelvin in 1842; welcomes the programme of improvements marking the bicentenary, including the refurbishment of gates, railings and pillars, which have been brought back to their original condition; notes that the anniversary was marked by a vibrant day of celebration on 20 May 2017 with a series of free events, activities, performances, talks and tours; recognises that, as well as being an iconic part of Glasgow's West End, the Botanic Gardens have made an invaluable contribution to the cultural, social and educational development of the city; appreciates the work of the Friends of Glasgow Botanic Gardens, a charitable organisation established in the early 1990s with the aim of supporting and furthering the activities of the Botanic Gardens; and wishes the Glasgow Botanic Gardens all the best for many years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Patrick Grady21/06/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss21/06/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan21/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden21/06/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald21/06/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon22/06/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens22/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson26/06/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Martyn Day26/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Sweeney26/06/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick27/06/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil03/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray04/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell04/07/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry20/07/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.