Parliament Website

House Of Commons And Lords Commissions And The Award Of The Elizabeth Tower Contract To Sir Robert Mcalpine

EDM number 401 in 2017-19, proposed by Chuka Umunna on 12/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Construction industry, Industrial relations and Parliament.

That this House disapproves of the awarding of the contract to refurbish the Elizabeth Tower ,Big Ben, to the construction company Sir Robert McAlpine; recalls that in 2009 the Information Commissioner raided the offices of the Consulting Association and found a blacklist of over 3,000 construction workers that had been used to vet employees and unfairly deny people work; notes that Sir Robert McAlpine not only helped to found and fund the Consulting Association but provided two of its Chairs; further notes that although Sir Robert McAlpine was subject to litigation over blacklisting and admitted its guilt in 2016, not one director has ever been held to account; recognises the exceptional nature of the contract to restore Big Ben, one of the UK's most iconic buildings and a national symbol of the Mother of Parliaments; further notes Mr Speaker's comments that the chosen contractor should be one that observes the letter and spirit of the law and conforms to the highest standards; agrees with recent Government comments that blacklisting is completely unacceptable given the exceptional symbolic national importance of Big Ben; believes that awarding the contract to Sir Robert McAlpine is inappropriate and an insult to the victims of blacklisting in the construction sector and sends a message that firms can engage in such unacceptable practices without serious consequences; and calls on the House of Commons and House of Lords Commissions to rethink their decision and award the contract to another construction company that does not have a history of involvement in blacklisting.

This motion has been signed by a total of 77 MPs.

Chuka Umunna12/10/2017StreathamLabourProposed
Jack Dromey12/10/2017Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
John Mann12/10/2017BassetlawLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth12/10/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Luciana Berger12/10/2017Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSeconded
David Crausby12/10/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Harriet Harman12/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty12/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Chris Matheson12/10/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/10/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Preet Kaur Gill12/10/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Naseem Shah12/10/2017Bradford WestLabourSigned
Angela Smith12/10/2017Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Helen Hayes12/10/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil12/10/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands12/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black12/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer12/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Sandy Martin12/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Clive Efford12/10/2017ElthamLabourSigned
Joan Ryan12/10/2017Signed
Teresa Pearce12/10/2017Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves12/10/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly12/10/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas12/10/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg12/10/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Stephanie Peacock12/10/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Paul Williams12/10/2017Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss12/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald12/10/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry12/10/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Marsden12/10/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey12/10/2017West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Toby Perkins12/10/2017ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Ian Murray12/10/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Alison McGovern12/10/2017Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Gareth Snell12/10/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Kevin Barron12/10/2017Rother ValleyLabourSigned
George Howarth12/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Stella Creasy12/10/2017WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mike Gapes12/10/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Chris Evans12/10/2017IslwynLabourSigned
Neil Coyle12/10/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
David Lammy12/10/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi12/10/2017Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid12/10/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra12/10/2017Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge12/10/2017BarkingLabourSigned
James Frith12/10/2017Bury NorthLabourSigned
Melanie Onn12/10/2017Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds12/10/2017Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
David Hanson12/10/2017DelynLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner12/10/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Jo Stevens12/10/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Jonathan Reynolds12/10/2017Stalybridge and HydeLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas12/10/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Wes Streeting12/10/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock12/10/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd16/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman16/10/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham16/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law16/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris16/10/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle17/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Dennis Skinner17/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard18/10/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas18/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roger Godsiff18/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/10/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Clive Lewis30/10/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi02/11/2017GowerLabourSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.