Parliament Website

Indefinite Detention

EDM number 457 in 2017-19, proposed by Catherine West on 25/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Immigration and Prisons.

That this House is deeply concerned that the UK detains people indefinitely under immigration rules, is the only country in Europe without a time limit on detention and that people can be detained for months and years on end without knowing when they will be released; notes that in the year to June 2017, 27,819 people were detained and that of the nearly 3,000 people detained in June 2017 over half had been locked up for more than 28 days, 271 people for over six months and that 52 per cent of those released from detention were returned to the community; observes that successive reports by the UN High Commissioner for Refugees in 2012, the All-Party Parliamentary Groups on Migration and Refugees in 2015 and Stephen Shaw in 2016 have demonstrated indefinite detention to have a damaging effect on the health of the people concerned; and calls on the Government urgently to reform immigration detention by introducing a 28-day time limit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Catherine West25/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourProposed
Jim Shannon26/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Tim Farron26/10/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens26/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Doughty26/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSeconded
Martyn Day30/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Sobel30/10/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Edward Davey30/10/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon31/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer31/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Layla Moran31/10/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Linden31/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney31/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Thelma Walker31/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake02/11/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Stewart McDonald02/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Dan Carden03/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald03/11/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson06/11/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Duffield06/11/2017CanterburyLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Gavin Robinson06/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Gareth Thomas14/11/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Liz Twist15/11/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tulip Siddiq27/11/2017Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter27/11/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Lammy29/11/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Clive Lewis30/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Ruth George11/12/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Helen Hayes11/12/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Hywel Williams19/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Harriet Harman20/12/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Emma Little Pengelly09/10/2018Belfast SouthDUPSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.