Parliament Website

Certification Officer's Levy On Trade Unions

EDM number 481 in 2017-19, proposed by Kate Hoey on 31/10/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial relations.

That this House is gravely concerned that the Government's proposals for a Certification Officer's levy on trade unions would result in unions having fewer resources to represent their members, a reduced capacity to negotiate better jobs and working conditions for working people, and a diminished ability to take enforcement action against bad employers; does not believe that the functions delivered by the Certification Officer should be recoverable by the proposed levy, which is both unnecessary and out of proportion to the reality of the current system; notes that the current proposal effectively create a flat-rate charge for all unions with an annual income of over £900,000, and does not account for the varying budgets and existing resources of those organisations; further notes that the proposed division of costs between the various types of organisations regulated by the Certification Office is unjust and greater clarity needs to be provided on the rise in costs, since the Certification Officer's income is set to more than treble; and therefore calls on the Government to consider retaining the existing funding arrangements, or at least to ensure that any system of levies treats unions and employers equally, and ensure that all levied organisations are required to pay at a level that is broadly proportionate to their income.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Kate Hoey31/10/2017VauxhallLabourProposed
Clive Lewis31/10/2017Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns31/10/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley31/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Hugh Gaffney31/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon31/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Dan Carden31/10/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy31/10/2017WiganLabourSigned
Mike Hill01/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Stephens01/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner01/11/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Martyn Day02/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham02/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Matheson03/11/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas03/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Grahame Morris06/11/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Mary Glindon13/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.