Parliament Website

Anniversary Of The Balfour Declaration

EDM number 482 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 31/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government, Middle East and Religion and faith communities.

That this House acknowledges the centenary anniversary of the Balfour Declaration on 2 November 2017; notes that the Declaration pledged Britain's support for a national home in Palestine for the Jewish people on the understanding that nothing shall be done which may prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine; recognises that the promise to protect indigenous non-Jewish communities has not been accomplished and must be fulfilled; believes that the anniversary is an opportunity to reflect critically upon the role that the British Government has played and its failure to uphold obligations and safeguard the rights of Palestinians; celebrates the achievements of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra who are performing in the UK in advance of the centenary and whose work bridges the divide between Palestinians and Israelis; reaffirms its support for the negotiation of a durable peace between Israelis and Palestinians, resulting in two sovereign states of Israel and Palestine, both with viability and contiguity within secure and internationally recognised borders; and calls on the Government to recognise the State of Palestine alongside the State of Israel so as to contribute to a secure and negotiated end to violent conflict.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Caroline Lucas31/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Peter Bottomley31/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day01/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards01/11/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ronnie Campbell01/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon02/11/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham02/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens02/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris03/11/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Matheson03/11/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan07/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman13/11/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer13/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns16/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard27/11/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George20/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.