Parliament Website

Role Of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps

EDM number 483 in 2017-19, proposed by Bob Blackman on 31/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government, Iran, Middle East and Terrorism.

That this House joins the Government to express serious concerns over the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) role in human rights violations in Iran and support for terrorism abroad, including destabilising activities in the region and reports of Iran's links and backing of military and proscribed groups; notes that the IRGC is actively involved in slaughtering the people of Syria to keep the dictator Assad in power and recruits child soldiers and refugees from Afghanistan and trains them to become terrorist fighters; believes senior IRGC commanders are on Interpol's Red Notice list for acts of international terrorism including the 1994 bombing of a Jewish community centre in Buenos Aires; reiterates that the IRGC only answers to the Supreme Leader and is responsible for suppression of Iranian people including the 2009 uprising, crackdown on human rights defenders, activists, journalists and anti-death penalty campaigners as well as arbitrary arrests of dual citizens; further notes IRGC's role in assassinating Iranian dissidents abroad, including members of the main opposition coalition, PMOI and NCRI; recognises IRGC's involvement in Iran's ballistic missile and nuclear programme; takes into account that the IRGC is considered a terrorist group by international allies including the US; share the Government's view that IRGC's support for terrorism undermines prospects for regional security and lasting peace in the region; calls on the Government to include the IRGC on the list of proscribed organisations, impose punitive measures against its officials and to work with allies to expel the IRGC from Syria, Iraq and the Middle East.

This motion has been signed by a total of 70 MPs.

Bob Blackman31/10/2017Harrow EastConservativeProposed
Jim Shannon01/11/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Louise Ellman01/11/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSeconded
David Amess02/11/2017Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen McCabe02/11/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Roger Godsiff06/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Desmond Swayne14/11/2017New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn14/11/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Mike Wood14/11/2017Dudley SouthConservativeSigned
John Cryer14/11/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell14/11/2017RomfordConservativeSigned
Frank Field14/11/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney15/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Stephen Lloyd15/11/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Metcalfe15/11/2017South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSigned
Jess Phillips15/11/2017Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce15/11/2017Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson15/11/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr15/11/2017North AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Mearns15/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Edward Leigh15/11/2017GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Toby Perkins16/11/2017ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Graham Stringer22/11/2017Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman22/11/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Evans22/11/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Gavin Robinson22/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Fiona Bruce22/11/2017CongletonConservativeSigned
Alistair Carmichael22/11/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Amesbury22/11/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Robert Halfon22/11/2017HarlowConservativeSigned
David Crausby23/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martyn Day27/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ryan27/11/2017Signed
Tim Farron28/11/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens29/11/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Thelma Walker29/11/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Jack Lopresti29/11/2017Filton and Bradley StokeConservativeSigned
Gordon Henderson30/11/2017Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Kevin Barron30/11/2017Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Kate Hoey30/11/2017VauxhallLabourSigned
Geraint Davies30/11/2017Swansea WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/11/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson30/11/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Hywel Williams30/11/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Geoffrey Robinson30/11/2017Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards30/11/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake30/11/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Virendra Sharma30/11/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Karen Buck30/11/2017Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell30/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas04/12/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford04/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law04/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman04/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts05/12/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John Spellar05/12/2017WarleyLabourSigned
David Hanson05/12/2017DelynLabourSigned
Paul Girvan05/12/2017South AntrimDUPSigned
Alan Brown05/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi05/12/2017GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock11/12/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris11/12/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
David Lammy11/12/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Martin Vickers11/12/2017CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Angela Crawley11/12/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Lord11/12/2017WokingConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner20/12/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Robert Syms20/12/2017PooleConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan09/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.