Parliament Website

Delivery Charges

EDM number 572 in 2017-19, proposed by Drew Hendry on 21/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers, Countryside, Internet and cybercrime and Postal services.

That this House recognises that people living in the rural areas of the UK, particularly in the Highlands and Islands, regularly have to pay extortionate delivery charges for goods and products ordered over the internet; expresses its concerns that consumers in the Highlands and Islands are paying, on average, £14.23 more for deliveries; notes that charges such as these cannot be justified, and as a result consumers in the Highlands and Islands, and other rural areas, are being unfairly discriminated against by online sellers due to their place of residence; and supports calls for retailers to end excessive delivery surcharges and to offer delivery by Royal mail where this is the cheaper option.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Drew Hendry21/11/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartyProposed
Ian Blackford21/11/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil21/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara21/11/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald21/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald21/11/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart21/11/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley21/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gavin Robinson22/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham22/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon23/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day23/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry04/12/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard05/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman06/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell11/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.