Parliament Website

HM Prison Northumberland

EDM number 601 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 28/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Prisons.

That this House is concerned by the recently published HM Inspectorate of Prisons report regarding HM Prison (HMP) Northumberland; notes that HMP Northumberland currently houses over 1,300 male inmates and is run by the private firm Sodexo; is deeply concerned by the report's findings regarding violence and drug use which detail a staggering increase in both since the last unannounced inspection in 2014; further notes that since the last inspection violence has more than doubled with 58 per cent of prisoners feeling unsafe since arriving at HMP Northumberland and 28 per cent of prisoners feeling unsafe at the time of the inspection; notes that since the last inspection there have been six self-inflicted deaths at the prison, yet few of the issues previously identified by the Prisons and Probation Ombudsman have been addressed; is also concerned by the findings of the survey regarding drug use and availability of drugs within the prison with 61 per cent of men saying it was easy or very easy to obtain illicit drugs, and 21 per cent saying they had acquired a drug habit since entering the prison; is aware that the report found that prisoners' time out of cell is not good enough for a prison of this category and that attendance at educational and training classes have declined since the last report; and calls on the Government to urgently address the worsening situation across the prison estate and ensure inmates are housed safely in prisons which have sufficient staff numbers and proper access to education and drug treatment programmes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Ian Mearns28/11/2017GatesheadLabourProposed
Ronnie Campbell28/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts28/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Kate Green28/11/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn28/11/2017Newport WestLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris28/11/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham28/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson28/11/2017Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Dan Carden28/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Preet Kaur Gill28/11/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jo Stevens28/11/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Sandy Martin29/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Jim Shannon29/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens29/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill30/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon01/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
David Lammy04/12/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury05/12/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.