Parliament Website

Episcopal Visit To Support Refugees And Asylum Seekers In Calais

EDM number 651 in 2017-19, proposed by Patrick Grady on 05/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Charities, Children and families, Religion and faith communities and Western Europe.

That this House notes the visit of Bishop William Nolan, Bishop of Galloway and President of Justice and Peace Scotland and Bishop Paul McAleenan, Auxiliary Bishop of Westminster and Lead Bishop for Asylum and Migration to Calais on 28-29 November 2017 as guests of the Maria Skobtsova Catholic Worker House; understands that this charity supports vulnerable people including refugees in Calais; recognises that the destruction of the so-called Jungle camp has made many people, including unaccompanied asylum-seeking children, vulnerable to increasing hostility and restrictions from local authorities; understands that these restrictions include bans on food distribution, the provision of showers, and the confiscation of sleeping bags and tents; further understands that there have been reports of migrants being pepper-sprayed; commends the endeavours of those in Calais who continue to support all fleeing persecution and exploitation; hopes that, as the Advent season begins, people of all faiths and none will recognise the nativity crib image of a displaced family seeking sanctuary as representative of the importance of making welcome the stranger; considers the joint statement issued by Bishop Nolan and Bishop McAleenan which calls on the Government to embrace the true spirit of the Dubs Amendment and extend the provision beyond the original timeframe of March 2016, streamline the implementation of the Dublin III Regulations and establish facilities that will allow migrants to raise their asylum claims from Europe; and urges the UK and French Governments jointly to develop infrastructures to enable dignified living in Calais.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Patrick Grady05/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Stuart McDonald05/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald06/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan06/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day06/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty07/12/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss07/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley07/12/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey11/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McNally12/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.