Parliament Website

Prime Minister's Invitation To The Prime Minister Of The Kurdistan Region

EDM number 684 in 2017-19, proposed by Jack Lopresti on 13/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Ethnic groups, International politics and government and Iraq.

That this House congratulates the Prime Minister on her decision to invite the Prime Minister of the Kurdistan Region in Iraq to London; believes that the UK is well-placed, thanks to its history with Iraq and Kurdistan and the respect for the UK there, to encourage much needed dialogue on all outstanding issues between the Kurdish Regional Government and the federal Government in Iraq, based on the full implementation of the Iraq constitution whose neglect in recent years underpinned the Kurdistani decision to hold a referendum on eventual and negotiated independence; welcomes the Prime Minister's commitment that the UK would continue to fight to protect the identity and rights of the Kurdish people under the Iraqi constitution and the UK's continued support for the Kurdistan Region and Kurdish people within a unified Iraq, while urging continued reform in the political, economic and security sectors to strengthen Kurdistan's institutions and deliver for the Kurdish people; and wishes the very best for the visit by Prime Minister Nechirvan Barzani and Deputy Prime Minister Qubad Talabani.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Jack Lopresti13/12/2017Filton and Bradley StokeConservativeProposed
Mary Glindon13/12/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Blackman13/12/2017Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Robert Halfon13/12/2017HarlowConservativeSeconded
Ian Austin13/12/2017Dudley NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon14/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham18/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson19/12/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Marie Rimmer19/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes20/12/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis20/12/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ryan19/01/2018Signed

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.