Parliament Website

NHS Wholly Owned Subsidiary Companies

EDM number 802 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Twist on 16/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Employment, Health services, Health staff and professions, Pensions and Taxation.

That this House notes that an increasing number of NHS trusts in England are attempting to establish wholly owned subsidiary companies to deliver services such as facilities and estates, ostensibly as a means of exploiting a tax loophole; believes that the major savings will in fact come from employing new staff on non-NHS terms and conditions, with no access to the NHS Pension Scheme; considers that such moves amount to backdoor privatisation, which is taking place despite mounting evidence of the failure of outsourcing in the NHS; recognises that the NHS is under extreme financial pressure but considers that such moves are merely short-term fixes that will create further problems in future; asserts that long-term protection of pay and pensions for staff transferring to new companies is weak, with some examples already of such organisations moving unilaterally to change staff conditions post-transfer; further believes that once such companies have been set up, it is far easier for trusts to transfer other staff and services in future; further considers that the NHS always functions at its best when services and staff work together as one team across an organisation, rather than being artificially separated by the establishment of arms-length entities; and calls on the Government to block the creation of any further NHS wholly owned subsidiary companies, while guaranteeing the continuation of the national Agenda for Change pay system and access to the NHS Pension Scheme for all healthcare staff, whether providing clinical or non-clinical services.

This motion has been signed by a total of 65 MPs.

Liz Twist16/01/2018BlaydonLabourProposed
Mike Hill16/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham17/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon17/01/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell17/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris18/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth18/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Grogan22/01/2018Signed
Marie Rimmer23/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner23/01/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham23/01/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Alex Sobel24/01/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Angela Eagle24/01/2018WallaseyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner25/01/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Thelma Walker25/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Naseem Shah05/02/2018Bradford WestLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq06/02/2018Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/02/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lisa Nandy05/03/2018WiganLabourSigned
Matt Western14/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Paul Williams15/03/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas20/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Spellar21/03/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Kate Hollern21/03/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Ian Mearns21/03/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara22/03/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff22/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandy Martin22/03/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Dan Jarvis27/03/2018Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Karen Lee27/03/2018LincolnLabourSigned
Wes Streeting28/03/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Chris Williamson29/03/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field16/04/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper04/06/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick04/06/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly04/06/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
George Howarth04/06/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson05/06/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Jon Cruddas05/06/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson07/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ann Clwyd13/06/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue13/06/2018MakerfieldLabourSigned
Jonathan Ashworth13/06/2018Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Graham Jones14/06/2018HyndburnLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey18/06/2018West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg18/06/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Helen Hayes19/06/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter20/06/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Catherine West21/06/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Hilary Benn26/06/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Alison McGovern26/06/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby27/06/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury04/09/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid04/09/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell04/09/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Kate Green04/09/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Gareth Snell10/09/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Morgan11/09/2018Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Jess Phillips11/09/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Kevin Barron12/09/2018Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Ben Lake09/10/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Cat Smith09/10/2018Lancaster and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Richard Burden09/10/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Emma Hardy26/10/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.