Parliament Website

Working Conditions Of London Underground Cleaners

EDM number 946 in 2017-19, proposed by Kate Hoey on 20/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations, Pay, Railways and Service industries.

That this House is grateful to the 3,000 cleaners who keep the capital's underground network clear of obstructions and in a hygienic condition; is concerned that, despite working in dirty and hazardous conditions, frequently through the night time and other unsocial hours, these hard working and often vulnerable public servants only receive the bare minimum statutory sick pay, pensions and holiday entitlement; is further concerned by the decision of the new outsourced Tube cleaning contractor ABM to make employment conditions even worse by introducing an inferior sick pay scheme; believes that such a high profile, world famous public service as the London Underground should be leading the way in providing decent working conditions for all its staff instead of exploiting vulnerable workers; calls for Transport for London to take all necessary steps in ensuring Tube cleaners are treated the same as other Tube staff in respect of their basic working conditions; and further calls for this outsourced cleaning work to be returned in-house as soon as practicable, so that Tube cleaning is part of the public sector alongside the rest of the London Underground.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Kate Hoey20/02/2018VauxhallLabourProposed
Ian Mearns20/02/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
David Lammy20/02/2018TottenhamLabourSeconded
John Cryer20/02/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas20/02/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris20/02/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham20/02/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Catherine West20/02/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma20/02/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon20/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens20/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens20/02/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Frank Field20/02/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Martyn Day21/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner21/02/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham21/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson21/02/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Marie Rimmer21/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/02/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/02/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Sandy Martin22/02/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth22/02/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker22/02/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts22/02/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ruth George26/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Matt Western27/02/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon27/02/2018North DownIndependentSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.