Parliament Website

Supported Housing Associations

EDM number 951 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Cunningham on 20/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Social rented housing and Supported housing.

That this House notes the important work of not for profit housing associations such as Midland Heart in providing essential supported housing for vulnerable people; further notes that the provision of vital services at short term supported housing schemes such as the Coventry Foyer is made possible through a funding model that provides security for providers; believes that short term supported housing plays a critical role in promoting independence, preventing homelessness and tackling rough sleeping; is concerned that investment in new supported housing schemes has stalled due to uncertainty over the future funding mechanisms for this type of accommodation; recognises that the recent proposal to transfer funding for short term accommodation to a local authority block grant reinforces housing associations' concerns that costs will not be covered in a way which ensures services remain viable; and calls on the Government to clarify how it intends to fund short term supported accommodation to ensure that the principle of individual entitlement to help with housing costs is protected and to provide much needed certainty to housing associations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Jim Cunningham20/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourProposed
Karen Buck20/02/2018Westminster NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Hendrick20/02/2018PrestonLabourSeconded
Roger Godsiff20/02/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell21/02/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/02/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens21/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon21/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Matt Western21/02/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/02/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/02/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Sandy Martin22/02/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ruth George26/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss27/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Adrian Bailey06/03/2018West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.