Parliament Website

Self-Determination For A Distinct Colony Of The Crown Norfolk Island

EDM number 983 in 2017-19, proposed by Angus MacNeil on 26/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Australasia, International politics and government and Overseas territories.

That this House supports the right of self-determination of Norfolk Island, which was until recently a limited self-governing territory attached initially to the UK and then to Australia, but was always a distinct colony of the British crown; calls for the self-determination of Norfolk Island in line with the UN charter on decolonization to which Australia is a signatory and which the UK has enacted for the people of the British Overseas Territories; and deplores the attempts by Australia to re-colonise the people of Norfolk Island and obstruct them from achieving the internationally accepted process of self-determination.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Angus MacNeil26/02/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartyProposed
Patrick Grady26/02/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon27/02/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Drew Hendry27/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law27/02/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden27/02/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman27/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day27/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards27/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts27/02/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Cowan27/02/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens27/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Rosindell27/02/2018RomfordConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan28/02/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham06/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ben Lake08/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Mhairi Black12/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.