Parliament Website

Mary Barbour Statue

EDM number 989 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 27/02/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Local government.

That this House congratulates everyone involved with the campaign to establish a permanent memorial to the pioneering community activist, Mary Barbour; notes the tireless efforts of the Remember Mary Barbour Association (RMBA), which worked hard to raise over £110,000 for a statue to honour of one of Glasgow's first women councillors and that many organisations came together to make this happen, including the RMBA, Glasgow Housing Association, Govan, Linthouse and Elderpark Housing Associations, trade unions, Glasgow City Council, Strathclyde Passenger Transport and people across Govan and further afield who supported the campaign to honour Mary's contribution to Govan, Glasgow and across the country; further notes that Mary became politically active as a member of the Co-operative Guild and went on to set up tenants committees and co-ordinated eviction resistance in response to the unfair rent increases in Glasgow during the First World War, and also campaigned against poverty in the city, championing equality issues such as maternity benefit, education, equal voting rights and a national minimum wage; and celebrates the unveiling of the statue of Mary, on International Women's Day on 8 March 2018, which will allow people in Govan to celebrate the life and work of an exceptional person in Glasgow's history.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Chris Stephens27/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon28/02/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day28/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss28/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady01/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Christine Jardine05/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan05/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie06/03/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham06/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Neil Gray06/03/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford06/03/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/03/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard06/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley07/03/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands07/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald07/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman07/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson08/03/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron12/03/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black12/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney14/03/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.