Parliament Website

Gender-Neutral School Uniforms

EDM number 993 in 2017-19, proposed by Layla Moran on 27/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Equality and Schools.

That this House notes that the adoption of a gender-neutral school uniform policy creates an environment in which everyone is accepted and students are not labelled by the clothing they wear; welcomes the growing trend toward gender-neutral uniform policies; further welcomes that over 150 schools in the UK have already adopted such a policy; congratulates Jess lnsall for her campaign to introduce gender-neutral school uniforms which has received support from the Scottish Government; and calls on the UK Government to encourage all schools to introduce a non-prescriptive, gender-neutral school uniform policy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Layla Moran27/02/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Jo Swinson27/02/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Norman Lamb27/02/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jamie Stone27/02/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSeconded
Tom Brake27/02/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Christine Jardine27/02/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Edward Davey27/02/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley28/02/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alison Thewliss28/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald05/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley05/03/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard06/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens07/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman07/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black12/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell13/03/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/03/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Kerr14/03/2018StirlingConservativeSigned
Marion Fellows19/03/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman21/03/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner22/03/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse28/03/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Matt Western29/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
John McNally16/04/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd16/04/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle24/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Patrick Grady30/04/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Andy Slaughter20/06/2018HammersmithLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.