Parliament Website

Dr John Rae And The Restoration Of The Hall Of Clestrain

EDM number 1459 in 2003-04, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 06/07/2004.

That this House recognises the achievements of the nineteenth century explorer, Dr John Rae, in particular his charting of more than 3,000 miles of Arctic coastline and his discovery of the final link in the North-West Passage; notes that in 1854 he brought back news of the fate of the expedition led by Sir John Franklin, truthfully reporting the evidence that the last survivors of that expedition had resorted to cannibalism, and as a result was vilified by the British establishment led by Lady Franklin and Charles Dickins, for having relied on the word of savages as they described the indigenous population; regrets that Dr Rae was never awarded the public recognition that was his due, including the knighthood that was given to other great British explorers of his time; welcomes and supports the proposed restoration of the Hall of Clestrain in Orkney, the home where Rae was born and spent his childhood, to be used as a museum tracing the design and construction of traditional boats in Orkney from prehistory to the present day; and believes that the project will belatedly honour the memory of a great British explorer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Alistair Carmichael06/07/2004Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
John McDonnell07/07/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer07/07/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore07/07/2004HendonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/07/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Tyler08/07/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley08/07/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Sue Doughty08/07/2004GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/07/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/07/2004East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale08/07/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Greg Pope08/07/2004HyndburnLabourSigned
Paul Keetch12/07/2004HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris12/07/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing14/07/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Harold Best15/07/2004Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson16/07/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington16/07/2004Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/07/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones20/07/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian White20/07/2004North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
John Barrett14/09/2004Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.