Parliament Website

50th Anniversary Of The Council Of Europe

EDM number 1659 in 1997-98, proposed by Terry Davis on 19/10/1998.

That this House notes that the Council of Europe was founded in 1949 to unite the peoples of Europe around the values of pluralist democracy, human rights, the rule of law and a culture of tolerance; notes that it is today not only Europe's oldest international organisation - from the Atlantic to the Urals - since it comprises 40 member states, with the applications of four more under consideration; welcomes the Action Plan agreed by its Heads of State and Government meeting at its Second Summit last October which includes the establishment of a new Single European Court of Human Rights on 1st November this year, the creation of an office of Commissioner for Human Rights, and the strengthening of machinery ensuring the compliance of member States' commitments; congratulates the Council of Europe on its 50th Anniversary next year; notes with appreciation its accomplishments in the advancement of democracy and particularly in the new democracies following the fall of Communism in Europe; and calls on the Government to help ensure that it maintains its pre-eminent role in the future architecture of Europe.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Terry Davis19/10/1998Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourProposed
Eric Pickles19/10/1998Brentwood & OngarConservativeSigned
Jimmy Wray19/10/1998Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
David Wilshire19/10/1998SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis19/10/1998Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Townend19/10/1998East YorkshireConservativeSigned
John D Taylor19/10/1998StrangfordUUPSigned
David Atkinson19/10/1998Bournemouth EastConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock19/10/1998Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Maria Fyfe19/10/1998Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/10/1998Newport WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/10/1998Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe19/10/1998LeighLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/10/1998KeighleyLabourSigned
Tom Cox19/10/1998TootingLabourSigned
Sydney Chapman19/10/1998Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Edward O'Hara19/10/1998Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith19/10/1998Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Kevin McNamara19/10/1998Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Jim Marshall19/10/1998Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Jenny Jones19/10/1998Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser19/10/1998DoverLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt20/10/1998Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
John Wilkinson20/10/1998Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
John Austin20/10/1998Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Michael Colvin20/10/1998RomseyConservativeSigned
David Lepper20/10/1998Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones20/10/1998Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle20/10/1998ChorleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice20/10/1998PendleLabourSigned
Peter Pike20/10/1998BurnleyLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar20/10/1998Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ann Winterton21/10/1998CongletonConservativeSigned
Robert Wareing21/10/1998Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Taylor21/10/1998North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Roy Beggs21/10/1998East AntrimUUPSigned
Harry Barnes21/10/1998North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
John Cummings21/10/1998EasingtonLabourSigned
Oona King21/10/1998Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
Paul Keetch21/10/1998HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones21/10/1998CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Jones21/10/1998Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Norman Godman21/10/1998Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge22/10/1998Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Angela Smith22/10/1998BasildonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Eric Illsley22/10/1998Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Paul Tyler22/10/1998North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Fearn26/10/1998SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George26/10/1998St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Debra Shipley27/10/1998StourbridgeLabourSigned
Alice Mahon27/10/1998HalifaxLabourSigned
Christine Butler27/10/1998Castle PointLabourSigned
Janet Dean27/10/1998BurtonLabourSigned
Christopher Gill27/10/1998LudlowConservativeSigned
Donald Gorrie27/10/1998Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake02/11/1998Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell11/11/1998Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.