Parliament Website

Sixth Anniversary Of The Closure Of Bcci

EDM number 215 in 1997-98, proposed by Keith Vaz on 07/07/1997.

That this House notes that Saturday 5th July marks the sixth anniversary of the closure of BCCI; is deeply concerned by the failure of the liquidators, Deloitte Touche, to distribute the second dividend to the creditors of BCCI and by Deloitte Touche's behaviour towards former employees of the bank; is also concerned by the lack of co-operation between the Luxembourg and United Kingdom liquidators; notes the failure of the liquidators to supply the creditors with information relating to the timing of future dividends and the costs of the liquidation; and calls upon Deloitte Touche to provide the creditors with this information and to ensure the speedy payment of the outstanding compensation to the victims.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Keith Vaz07/07/1997Leicester EastLabourProposed
Ashok Kumar08/07/1997Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone08/07/1997Brent EastLabourSigned
Bill Michie08/07/1997Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/07/1997Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson08/07/1997Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Roy Beggs08/07/1997East AntrimUUPSigned
David Taylor08/07/1997North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Barnes09/07/1997North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/07/1997Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Godman09/07/1997Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe09/07/1997Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Phil Hope09/07/1997CorbyLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ernie Ross09/07/1997Dundee WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham10/07/1997Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/07/1997Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Audrey Wise10/07/1997PrestonLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara14/07/1997Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Tom Cox14/07/1997TootingLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/07/1997Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Austin16/07/1997Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/07/1997Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones17/07/1997CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tommy Graham17/07/1997West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
David Chaytor24/07/1997Bury NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Turner29/07/1997Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nick Harvey31/07/1997North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.