Parliament Website

Right Of The Kashmiri People To Self-Determination

EDM number 227 in 1997-98, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 09/07/1997.

That this House welcomes the initiative taken by the new governments of both India and Pakistan to engage in dialogue over the future of Kashmir and hopes that this will lead to progress in resolving this long standing dispute; believes that no resolution of the dispute can take place without the involvement of representatives of the Kashmiri people and that any proposals made must, in the final analysis, be endorsed by the people of Kashmir on both sides of the line-of-control; notes that reports of human rights violations continue unabated and that the sense of alienation experienced by the Kashmiri people grows ever deeper and believes that this issue must be addressed as a precursor to the possible success of any discussions; and calls on Her Majesty's Government, as the 50th anniversary of the Indian occupation of the state of Jammu and Kashmir approaches, to vigorously support the UN Resolutions of 1948, 1949 and 1957, which upheld the rights of the Kashmiri people of self-determination.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Roger Godsiff09/07/1997Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourProposed
Marsha Singh09/07/1997Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Colvin09/07/1997RomseyConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon10/07/1997Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/07/1997Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone10/07/1997Brent EastLabourSigned
Alice Mahon10/07/1997HalifaxLabourSigned
Bill Michie10/07/1997Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/07/1997Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard10/07/1997WalthamstowLabourSigned
Norman Godman10/07/1997Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Harry Barnes10/07/1997North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Joan Walley10/07/1997Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Tom Cox14/07/1997TootingLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe14/07/1997LeighLabourSigned
Peter Pike15/07/1997BurnleyLabourSigned
Christopher Leslie15/07/1997ShipleyLabourSigned
Richard Burden15/07/1997Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/07/1997Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jenny Tonge15/07/1997Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Audrey Wise15/07/1997PrestonLabourSigned
John McAllion16/07/1997Dundee EastLabourSigned
Michael Clapham16/07/1997Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe17/07/1997Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Tommy Graham17/07/1997West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/07/1997Islington NorthLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie17/07/1997Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer17/07/1997KeighleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/07/1997Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Hinchliffe17/07/1997WakefieldLabourSigned
John Cummings17/07/1997EasingtonLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt24/07/1997CrawleyLabourSigned
David Chaytor24/07/1997Bury NorthLabourSigned
John Gunnell30/07/1997Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Ray Whitney27/10/1997WycombeConservativeSigned
John Austin28/10/1997Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mike Wood28/10/1997Batley & SpenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/10/1997Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Maria Fyfe28/10/1997Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Terry Davis28/10/1997Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Phil Woolas29/10/1997Oldham East & SaddleworthLabourSigned
George Stevenson03/11/1997Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Terry Rooney06/11/1997Bradford NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Moran06/11/1997Luton SouthLabourSigned
David Chidgey13/11/1997EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony McWalter24/11/1997Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Clarke27/11/1997Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Harold Best02/12/1997Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar03/12/1997Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Stephen TimmsUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.