Parliament Website

Lufthansa Skychefs

EDM number 854 in 1998-99, proposed by Kevin McNamara on 20/07/1999.

That this House notes with concern that 270 Lufthansa Skychefs workers have been locked out for seven months following their sacking on 20th November 1998 within hours of a one-day strike; condemns the failure of the senior management of LSG Lufthansa Service Holding AG, a major subsidiary of Deutsche Lufthansa AG, to deliver a resolution to the dispute despite accepting moral responsibility for the dispute in April 1999; condemns the fact that Lufthansa's only offer in talks with the Transport and General Workers Union is that the 270 sacked workers could apply for six vacancies; supports the union's campaign to secure reinstatement of the 270 Lufthansa Skychefs workers; and urges honourable Members not to travel on Lufthansa Airlines until the dispute is fully resolved.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Piara S Khabra20/07/1999Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
John McDonnell20/07/1999Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Kevin McNamara21/07/1999Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourProposed
Maria Fyfe21/07/1999Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSeconded
David Marshall21/07/1999Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSeconded
Alan Keen21/07/1999Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSeconded
Alice Mahon21/07/1999HalifaxLabourSigned
John Cummings21/07/1999EasingtonLabourSigned
Tom Cox21/07/1999TootingLabourSigned
Bill Michie21/07/1999Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones21/07/1999CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley21/07/1999Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bob Russell21/07/1999ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson22/07/1999Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Robert Wareing22/07/1999Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Borrow22/07/1999South RibbleLabourSigned
Mike Hancock22/07/1999Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe22/07/1999LeighLabourSigned
Michael Clapham22/07/1999Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Paul Keetch22/07/1999HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon22/07/1999Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/07/1999Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner23/07/1999BolsoverLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/07/1999Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Gavin Strang23/07/1999Edinburgh East & MusselburghLabourSigned
George Galloway23/07/1999Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/07/1999GowerLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone23/07/1999Brent EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/07/1999Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Audrey Wise26/07/1999PrestonLabourSigned
Harry Barnes26/07/1999North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
John Gunnell26/07/1999Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Norman Godman26/07/1999Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/07/1999KeighleyLabourSigned
Michael Connarty26/07/1999Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Terry Lewis26/07/1999WorsleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones27/07/1999Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell27/07/1999Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Russell Brown27/07/1999DumfriesLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/1999Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/07/1999Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/07/1999Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Neil Gerrard27/07/1999WalthamstowLabourSigned
Win Griffiths27/07/1999BridgendLabourSigned
Gerry Steinberg27/07/1999Durham, City ofLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.