Parliament Website


EDM number 1039 in 1999-00, proposed by Edward O'Hara on 26/07/2000.

That this House notes with sadness that on Saturday 5th August the Annual Ceremony will take place at Dherynia in Cyprus to commemorate the 26th Anniversary of the occupation of Famagusta, when Mr Andreas Pouyouros, Mayor of the Municipality of Famagusta, at the barbed wire will yet again present a petition to the United Nations for the liberation of his city which will be visible in the distance empty, ruined and unapproachable in the occupied zone; and deeply regrets this tragic waste of Famagusta not only for its amenities but as a test bed where it could be proved that Greek and Turkish Cypriots can yet live, work, play and do business peacefully together despite 26 years of enforced separation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Edward O'Hara26/07/2000Knowsley SouthLabourProposed
Tom Cox26/07/2000TootingLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/07/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis27/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Joe Benton27/07/2000BootleLabourSigned
Harry Barnes27/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Mike Hancock27/07/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Llin Golding27/07/2000Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/07/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington27/07/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis27/07/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/07/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke27/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Sydney Chapman27/07/2000Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Bill Olner27/07/2000NuneatonLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara27/07/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Linda Perham27/07/2000Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Raymond Powell27/07/2000OgmoreLabourSigned
Syd Rapson27/07/2000Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Ernie Ross27/07/2000Dundee WestLabourSigned
Bob Russell27/07/2000ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey27/07/2000North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood27/07/2000ClydesdaleLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/07/2000Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jenny Jones27/07/2000Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Lynne Jones27/07/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew Love27/07/2000EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Meale27/07/2000MansfieldLabourSigned
Simon Hughes28/07/2000North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin28/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Lepper23/10/2000Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer23/10/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson01/11/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.