Parliament Website

Medal For Armed Forces Killed In Action

EDM number 1057 in 1999-00, proposed by Harry Barnes on 27/07/2000.

That this House supports the suggestion made by Rita Restorick, the mother of Stephen, who was the last British soldier to be murdered by the Provisional IRA, that a posthumous medal similar to the US Purple Heart be presented to the next of kin of troops killed in action, so that it can be worn with pride on Remembrance Day; and is pleased to note that this suggestion has already gained the support of the Royal British Legion, the Daily Telegraph and the Mirror.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Harry Barnes27/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley27/07/2000Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Simon Hughes28/07/2000North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin McNamara28/07/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook28/07/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/10/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock23/10/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington23/10/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis23/10/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Vincent Cable23/10/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lepper23/10/2000Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bob Russell24/10/2000ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth24/10/2000Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Terry Lewis24/10/2000WorsleyLabourSigned
John Cummings24/10/2000EasingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore24/10/2000HendonLabourSigned
Paul Marsden25/10/2000Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton25/10/2000MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton25/10/2000CongletonConservativeSigned
Jenny Tonge25/10/2000Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths25/10/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell25/10/2000Fife North EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alice Mahon25/10/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Julian Lewis25/10/2000New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones25/10/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George25/10/2000St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer26/10/2000HornchurchLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/10/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Norman Godman26/10/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Harry Cohen30/10/2000Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
David Taylor30/10/2000North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe30/10/2000LeighLabourSigned
Syd Rapson30/10/2000Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
David Drew31/10/2000StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Evan Harris01/11/2000Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown01/11/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Alan Campbell01/11/2000TynemouthLabourSigned
Harold Best20/11/2000Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara29/11/2000Knowsley SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.