Parliament Website

Newsprint Recycling

EDM number 238 in 1999-00, proposed by DN Campbell-Savours on 11/01/2000.

That this House congratulates the three UK newsprint manufacturers whose use of waste paper as a proportion of their newsprint production is now over 94 per cent. and who have increased their share of the domestic market for newsprint from 6 per cent. in 1982 to nearly 40 per cent. in 1999, and looks forward to further annual increases; believes that whilst calls for mandatory recycling targets on imported newsprint would appear to be of benefit to the environment, they may in certain circumstances be damaging to the environment overseas and be environmentally counter-productive; and further believes that mandatory recycling targets should be the subject of the widest possible environmental impact assessment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs, 8 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Dale Campbell-Savours11/01/2000WorkingtonLabourProposed
Nicholas Winterton11/01/2000MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
Bill O'Brien12/01/2000NormantonLabourSeconded
Derek Wyatt12/01/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSeconded
Martin Smyth12/01/2000Belfast SouthUUPSeconded
David Heath12/01/2000Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Clark12/01/2000South ShieldsLabourSigned
Harry Cohen12/01/2000Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Eric Clarke12/01/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara12/01/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/01/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle12/01/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian White13/01/2000North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Joan Walley13/01/2000Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow13/01/2000South RibbleLabourSigned
Roy Beggs13/01/2000East AntrimUUPSigned
David Drew13/01/2000StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ian Davidson13/01/2000Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cummings13/01/2000EasingtonLabourSigned
Jamie Cann13/01/2000IpswichLabourSigned
Michael Clapham13/01/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Peter Pike13/01/2000BurnleyLabourSigned
Paul Keetch13/01/2000HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie13/01/2000Leeds EastLabourSigned
Peter Brand13/01/2000Isle of WightLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown13/01/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Nigel Jones17/01/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer17/01/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/01/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tommy Graham18/01/2000West RenfrewshireIndependent LabourSigned
Simon Hughes19/01/2000North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins19/01/2000Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/01/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Winterton19/01/2000CongletonConservativeSigned
Jonathan R Shaw20/01/2000Chatham & AylesfordLabourSigned
Alan Meale27/01/2000MansfieldLabourSigned
Irene Adams27/01/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned
David Stewart04/02/2000Inverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabourSigned
Phil Sawford09/02/2000KetteringLabourSigned
Chris Ruane10/02/2000Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Alan Williams10/03/2000Swansea WestLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis14/03/2000Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Tony McWalter15/03/2000Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan SimpsonUnknownWithdrawn
Jeremy CorbynUnknownWithdrawn
Harry BarnesUnknownWithdrawn
Harold BestUnknownWithdrawn
Audrey WiseUnknownWithdrawn
Syd RapsonUnknownWithdrawn
Elfyn LlwydUnknownWithdrawn
Bill EtheringtonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.