Parliament Website

Coup In Fiji

EDM number 828 in 1999-00, proposed by Barry Gardiner on 08/06/2000.

That this House condemns the overthrow of the democratically-elected government of Fiji and the illegal detention of its Prime Minister, Mahendra Chaudhry, in a military coup; expresses its deep concern at the reimposition of a racially-biased constitution and the scrapping of the existing constitution, which had made Fijian Indians eligible for the post of Prime Minister for the first time; and congratulates Her Majesty's Government for its role in the decision to suspend Fiji from the Commonwealth and for the pressure it is bringing to bear on the coup leader, Mr George Speight, and his military supporters to restore democratic rule forthwith.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Barry Gardiner08/06/2000Brent NorthLabourProposed
Joan Ruddock08/06/2000Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Piara S Khabra08/06/2000Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas08/06/2000Harrow WestLabourSigned
Paul Marsden09/06/2000Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Colin Burgon09/06/2000ElmetLabourSigned
Tom Cox09/06/2000TootingLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore09/06/2000HendonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell12/06/2000Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock12/06/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones13/06/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Norman Godman13/06/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/06/2000GowerLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar13/06/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Bill Michie14/06/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Eric Clarke14/06/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/06/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths14/06/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Russell Brown15/06/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Rudi Vis15/06/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington15/06/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nick Palmer19/06/2000BroxtoweLabourSigned
Nigel Jones20/06/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson21/06/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/06/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/06/2000North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley29/06/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby29/06/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Harry Barnes05/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Tony McWalter06/07/2000Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Austin13/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar18/07/2000Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/07/2000ElthamLabourSigned
Stephen Pound21/07/2000Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith26/07/2000Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Irene Adams27/07/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.