Parliament Website

Teeside Children And Anti-Racist Initiatives

EDM number 981 in 1999-00, proposed by Ashok Kumar on 17/07/2000.

That this House congratulates the year six pupils and teachers of Saltburn Primary School in Teesside and across the UK for their recent project work in creating a wall of positive graffiti challenging racism, prejudice and bullying ; notes that education action zone funded projects have increased awareness of the problem of racist bullying within the classroom and the community as a whole; welcomes the work being done by Redcar and Cleveland Education Action Zone and urges other EAZs and LEAs to initiate similar projects; and wholeheartedly supports the proposed inclusion of work by children from Saltburn in Teesside, and across the UK in an international exhibition of art and literature to be held in Brussels, produced by and for young people and highlighting their knowledge of and opposition to racism of all kinds.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Ashok Kumar17/07/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourProposed
Terry Davis17/07/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Betty Williams17/07/2000ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Williams17/07/2000Carmarthen East & DinefwrLabourSigned
Gerry Steinberg17/07/2000Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Martin Bell17/07/2000TattonIndependentSigned
Alan Beith17/07/2000Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Beard17/07/2000Bexleyheath & CrayfordLabourSigned
Linda Gilroy17/07/2000Plymouth, SuttonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ian Gibson17/07/2000Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Louise Ellman17/07/2000Liverpool, RiversideLabour Co-operativeSigned
Janet Dean17/07/2000BurtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/07/2000Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tom Cox17/07/2000TootingLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/07/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/07/2000Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd17/07/2000Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
David Clark17/07/2000South ShieldsLabourSigned
Martin O'Neill17/07/2000OchilLabourSigned
Bob Laxton17/07/2000Derby NorthLabourSigned
Barry Jones17/07/2000Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2000JarrowLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge17/07/2000Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Lawrie Quinn17/07/2000Scarborough & WhitbyLabourSigned
Harry Barnes18/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt18/07/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon18/07/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/07/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Fearn18/07/2000SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones19/07/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara19/07/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bill Michie19/07/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/07/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew George19/07/2000St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Donald Gorrie19/07/2000Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham20/07/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/07/2000ElthamLabourSigned
Win Griffiths20/07/2000BridgendLabourSigned
John Austin21/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Frank Cook24/07/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Marsden25/07/2000Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer25/07/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/07/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/07/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones26/07/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown26/07/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Eric Clarke26/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/07/2000Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen27/07/2000Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Iain Coleman27/07/2000Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.