Parliament Website

Radiotherapy Damage

EDM number 640 in 2000-01, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 03/05/2001.

That this House welcomes the submission by the Radiotherapy Action Group Exposure to the Prime Minister about patients who have suffered injuries as a result of radiotherapy treatment; notes the College of Radiologists' survey of cancer centres which shows a clustering of injuries at certain hospitals in certain years to women who received precautionary radiotherapy following surgery for breast cancer; notes also that their report, 'Brachial Plexus Neuropathy following Radiotherapy for Breast Carcinoma', published in 1995 indicated that the physical movement of the patient during treatment, as opposed to the machinery rotating around the patient, resulted in the overlapping of beams and hence over-dosage of healthy tissue resulting in many of the patients suffering from severe injuries; acknowledge that these appalling injuries are often so severe as to have a devastating impact on the lives of patients; is deeply concerned that despite the College of Radiologists' report indicating the fact and causation of the injuries, those sufferers have still not received compensation due to the lack of successful litigation to prove negligence; and strongly urges the Prime Minister to recognise the NHS's moral obligation to those who have sustained injuries as a result of radiotherapy by authorising the issue of ex-gratia payments to those affected as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn03/05/2001Islington NorthLabourProposed
Geoffrey Johnson Smith03/05/2001WealdenConservativeSigned
Edward Davey03/05/2001Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Terry Davis08/05/2001Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/05/2001Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Bill Michie09/05/2001Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt09/05/2001Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/05/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Godman09/05/2001Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/05/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones09/05/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2001Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Smyth09/05/2001Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Ann Cryer10/05/2001KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/05/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths10/05/2001BridgendLabourSigned
Harry Barnes10/05/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Paul Tyler10/05/2001North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis10/05/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.