Parliament Website

Mrs Sihem Ben Sedrine

EDM number 110 in 2001-02, proposed by Virginia Bottomley on 10/07/2001.

That this House notes the Special Amnesty International UK Media award to Mrs Sihem Ben Sedrine, editor of the Tunisian Internet publication Kalima; regrets her arrest two weeks ago on Tuesday 26th June after a tour of Europe; notes her role as a journalist and a defender of human rights; calls on parliaments, people and governments around the world to express concern at her arrest, to ask for her immediate and unconditional release and to seek assurances that she will be treated humanely; asks the Tunisian authorities to allow all human rights defenders to work and campaign freely; and reminds all governments, including Tunisia, of the commitment to the Unilateral Declaration of Human Rights, in particular Article 19: everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Virginia Bottomley10/07/2001South West SurreyConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley10/07/2001Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Bob Russell11/07/2001ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones11/07/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Nigel Jones11/07/2001CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin McNamara11/07/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/07/2001GowerLabourSigned
Tony Clarke11/07/2001Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/07/2001Islington NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Davey11/07/2001Bristol WestLabourSigned
Andrew George11/07/2001St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock11/07/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Bacon11/07/2001South NorfolkConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes11/07/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Chris Bryant12/07/2001RhonddaLabourSigned
Win Griffiths12/07/2001BridgendLabourSigned
John Cryer13/07/2001HornchurchLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/07/2001Luton NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis16/07/2001Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Betty Williams16/07/2001ConwyLabourSigned
Terry Lewis17/07/2001WorsleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon17/07/2001HalifaxLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/07/2001Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/07/2001Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake18/07/2001Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis18/07/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/07/2001KeighleyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson19/07/2001Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harold Best19/07/2001Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Bill Tynan19/07/2001Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/09/2001BurtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff14/09/2001Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.