Parliament Website

Sri Lankan Peace Talks

EDM number 1141 in 2001-02, proposed by Edward Davey on 17/04/2002.

That this House notes the ceasefire agreement between the Sri Lankan Government the Tamil Tigers and the subsequent goodwill measures including joint mine clearance, the efforts to re-open the land route to Jaffna and the re-opening of two ports on the Jaffna Peninsula; notes also the agreement to meet in Thailand for peace talks this May; congratulates all involved, including the LTTE and the Sri Lankan, Norwegian and Thai governments; commends the bipartisan approach of the Sri Lankan governing and opposition parties in Sri Lanka for these welcome and extremely positive moves; sends this House's best wishes for these talks and the whole Sri Lankan peace process; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to support this peace process in the fullest and most generous way possible and to ensure that the Sri Lankan peace process receives whatever help and support it needs from other quarters, whether that is the United Nations, European Union or Commonwealth.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Edward Davey17/04/2002Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratProposed
Simon Hughes17/04/2002North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes18/04/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon18/04/2002Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones18/04/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Iain Luke18/04/2002Dundee EastLabourSigned
Andrew MacKay18/04/2002BracknellConservativeSigned
Andrew Dismore18/04/2002HendonLabourSigned
Andrew George18/04/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Tonge18/04/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing18/04/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Martin Smyth18/04/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/04/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Harry Barnes19/04/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd22/04/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Russell Brown22/04/2002DumfriesLabourSigned
Ann Cryer22/04/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard22/04/2002WalthamstowLabourSigned
Rudi Vis22/04/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/04/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams23/04/2002CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Simon Thomas23/04/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock23/04/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox23/04/2002TootingLabourSigned
Lady Hermon23/04/2002North DownUUPSigned
Win Griffiths23/04/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Angus Robertson24/04/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Martin Caton24/04/2002GowerLabourSigned
Ian Davidson24/04/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Marsha Singh25/04/2002Bradford WestLabourSigned
Matthew Green25/04/2002LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle25/04/2002Leeds WestLabourSigned
Paul Tyler25/04/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Harold Best26/04/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/04/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell29/04/2002Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn29/04/2002Newport WestLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing29/04/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/04/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones07/05/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeff Ennis07/05/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
John Barrett07/05/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Atkinson17/06/2002HexhamConservativeSigned
Mohammad Sarwar18/06/2002Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
John McDonnell02/07/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.