Parliament Website

Diane Pretty (No. 2)

EDM number 1296 in 2001-02, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 14/05/2002.

That this House conveys its deepest sympathies to Brian Pretty and his family on the death of his wife Diane after her long and distressing illness; expresses its admiration for Diane in her courageous and determined campaign to choose the manner and time of her own death; recognises the overwhelming public support for Diane in pursuit of the right to die as she wished; urges that serious consideration is now given to appropriate changes in the law to permit others in future to exercise the choice not granted to Diane; is convinced that Diane's brave fight has paved the way for such a right being established in law; considers that many in future will have cause to be deeply grateful to Diane for a move towards progressive change she has done so much to advance; and believes that Diane Pretty will always be remembered for what she achieved.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins14/05/2002Luton NorthLabourProposed
James Plaskitt14/05/2002Warwick & LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge14/05/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes15/05/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bradley15/05/2002Wrekin, TheLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore15/05/2002HendonLabourSigned
Jane Griffiths15/05/2002Reading EastLabourSigned
Keith Vaz15/05/2002Leicester EastLabourSigned
Colin Challen16/05/2002Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/05/2002Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/05/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard20/05/2002WalthamstowLabourSigned
Nigel Jones20/05/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Sedgemore20/05/2002Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/05/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Wayne David21/05/2002CaerphillyLabourSigned
Julia Drown21/05/2002South SwindonLabourSigned
John Austin22/05/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Norman Baker22/05/2002LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Wright22/05/2002Cannock ChaseLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/05/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Martin O'Neill24/05/2002OchilLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/06/2002Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Barbara Follett11/06/2002StevenageLabourSigned
Harry Cohen12/06/2002Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Anne Begg12/06/2002Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd13/06/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Diana Organ13/06/2002Forest of DeanLabourSigned
Ross Cranston13/06/2002Dudley NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley13/06/2002RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 17/06/2002MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Sue Doughty17/06/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner18/06/2002Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews19/06/2002MedwayLabourSigned
Crispin Blunt19/06/2002ReigateConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson19/06/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins20/06/2002TamworthLabourSigned
Phil Sawford26/06/2002KetteringLabourSigned
Tom Harris15/07/2002Glasgow, CathcartLabourSigned
Piara S Khabra15/07/2002Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Pete Wishart15/07/2002North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
David Rendel24/09/2002NewburyLiberal DemocratSigned
Patsy Calton24/09/2002CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson24/09/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony McWalter31/10/2002Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.