Parliament Website

Gratuity Payments For Retiring Local Government Councillors

EDM number 1533 in 2001-02, proposed by John Cummings on 02/07/2002.

That this House warmly acknowledges the lobby of Parliament organised by the All Party National Association of Councillors in support of the Restoring the Balance Campaign as a means of renewing and reinvigorating local democracy; calls on Her Majesty's Government to implement a system of gratuities for retiring local government councillors based upon levels of responsibility and years in service in recognition of councillors contribution to public service and as a means of creating opportunities to attract more women, younger people and candidates from a representative cross section of social and ethnic backgrounds to participate in serving their communities as locally social and ethnic backgrounds to participate in serving their communities as locally elected councillors; recognises the success of similar gratuity schemes in the Republic of Ireland where the scheme is credited by the Irish Local Minister, Noel Dempsey T.D., as opening up opportunities for the young and encouraging a better gender balance; and notes that the implementation of a gratuity scheme in Wales by the Welsh Assembly has attracted wide ranging support across the political spectrum and that similar proposals are under consideration in the Northern Ireland Assembly and the Scottish Parliament.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

John Cummings02/07/2002EasingtonLabourProposed
Tom Cox02/07/2002TootingLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dennis Turner02/07/2002Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
Gerry Steinberg02/07/2002Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Roger Berry02/07/2002KingswoodLabourSigned
Roy Beggs02/07/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Ian Davidson02/07/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Clelland02/07/2002Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/07/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara02/07/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Denis Murphy02/07/2002WansbeckLabourSigned
Alice Mahon02/07/2002HalifaxLabourSigned
Piara S Khabra02/07/2002Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Brian Iddon02/07/2002Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/07/2002JarrowLabourSigned
Linda Perham02/07/2002Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/07/2002Lagan ValleyUUPSigned
Simon Thomas03/07/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Jeff Ennis03/07/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
David Marshall03/07/2002Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Martin Smyth03/07/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Jim Sheridan03/07/2002West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt03/07/2002CrawleyLabourSigned
Derek Foster04/07/2002Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Jon Trickett04/07/2002HemsworthLabourSigned
Donald Anderson04/07/2002Swansea EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton04/07/2002MidlothianLabourSigned
David Drew04/07/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Michael Connarty04/07/2002Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara04/07/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/07/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Jones04/07/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley04/07/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/07/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/07/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Julie Morgan09/07/2002Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/07/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/07/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell10/07/2002East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin10/07/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Clarke17/07/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
John Grogan19/07/2002SelbyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.