Parliament Website

Report Of Interdepartmental Working Group On Transexual People

EDM number 185 in 2001-02, proposed by Lynne Jones on 18/07/2001.

That this House notes that, in welcoming the publication of the Home Office Report of the Interdepartmental Working Group on Transsexual People in July 2000, the then Home Secretary recognised that the journey which individuals face when they find that they have been born with the wrong gender can be deeply distressing and depressing for them, and that 'we have to approach their circumstances with compassion and care'; notes his statement that the Government would welcome public comments on the Report before coming to firm conclusions on its recommendations; expresses its concern that after a year no progress has been made and that there has been no real consultation; and calls on the Government to take the Report forward, particularly in the light of the state of the current law, which counts the 20-year marriage of Liz Bellinger as unlawful.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

Lynne Jones18/07/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourProposed
David Rendel19/07/2001NewburyLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt19/07/2001Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/07/2001Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Ian Gibson19/07/2001Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard19/07/2001WalthamstowLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/07/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Davey19/07/2001Bristol WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/07/2001Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tony McWalter19/07/2001Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2001Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Lepper19/07/2001Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Evan Harris19/07/2001Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/07/2001KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Marsden20/07/2001Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Jamie Cann14/09/2001IpswichLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/09/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Anne Begg14/09/2001Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Norman Baker14/09/2001LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable14/09/2001TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Smith14/09/2001West Aberdeenshire & KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
James Plaskitt14/09/2001Warwick & LeamingtonLabourSigned
Desmond Turner08/10/2001Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Martin Salter15/10/2001Reading WestLabourSigned
Tony Baldry15/10/2001BanburyConservativeSigned
Hywel Williams15/10/2001CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Simon Thomas16/10/2001CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Jane Griffiths16/10/2001Reading EastLabourSigned
Meg Munn16/10/2001Sheffield, HeeleyLabour Co-operativeSigned
Adam Price16/10/2001Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Nick Harvey16/10/2001North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Sedgemore17/10/2001Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2001Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/10/2001GowerLabourSigned
Tony Clarke17/10/2001Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Harold Best17/10/2001Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Julie Morgan18/10/2001Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Andy Burnham18/10/2001LeighLabourSigned
David Kidney23/10/2001StaffordLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt25/10/2001CrawleyLabourSigned
David Borrow29/10/2001South RibbleLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley29/10/2001York, City ofLabourSigned
Joan Humble29/10/2001Blackpool North & FleetwoodLabourSigned
Paul Holmes31/10/2001ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian White31/10/2001North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Andrew George05/11/2001St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Helen Clark09/11/2001PeterboroughLabourSigned
Ian Davidson09/11/2001Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Austin14/11/2001Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss19/11/2001North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Richard Taylor29/11/2001Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Simon Hughes09/01/2002North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Stinchcombe10/01/2002WellingboroughLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith14/01/2002Morecambe & LunesdaleLabourSigned
David Atkinson06/02/2002Bournemouth EastConservativeSigned
David Amess14/02/2002Southend WestConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.