Parliament Website

Cyprus And The European Union

EDM number 448 in 2001-02, proposed by Tom Cox on 20/11/2001.

That this House welcomes the recent statement by the European Commission that Cyprus can expect to be one of the countries that will enter the European Union in 2004; congratulates the government of the Republic of Cyprus for their perseverance and commitment in working for the entry of their country into the European Union; and deeply regrets the intransigence of Mr Rauf Denktash in repeatedly refusing to accept the offer of President Glafcos Clerides to join him in a joint Greek/Turkish Cypriot commitment for Cyprus' membership of the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tom Cox20/11/2001TootingLabourProposed
Kevin McNamara20/11/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale20/11/2001MansfieldLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara20/11/2001Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Sydney Chapman20/11/2001Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Harry Cohen20/11/2001Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
David Amess20/11/2001Southend WestConservativeSigned
Tony Banks20/11/2001West HamLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/11/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright20/11/2001Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/11/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray21/11/2001Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing21/11/2001Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/11/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin21/11/2001Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/11/2001Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper21/11/2001Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Barnes22/11/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Eric Illsley22/11/2001Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew George22/11/2001St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore22/11/2001HendonLabourSigned
Bob Russell22/11/2001ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Burden23/11/2001Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Bob Spink26/11/2001Castle PointConservativeSigned
Bill Etherington26/11/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham27/11/2001Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Harold Best27/11/2001Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Alice Mahon28/11/2001HalifaxLabourSigned
Vera Baird28/11/2001RedcarLabourSigned
Linda Perham29/11/2001Ilford NorthLabourSigned
John Barrett29/11/2001Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Terry Davis11/12/2001Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/12/2001Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/12/2001Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ray PowellUnknownWithdrawn
Nick HawkinsUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.