Parliament Website

60th Anniversary Of The Special Air Service Regiment

EDM number 508 in 2001-02, proposed by Paul Keetch on 03/12/2001.

That this House pays tribute to the Special Air Service Regiment on the occasion of the 60th Anniversary of its first operation in December 1941; notes with admiration that the concept of the SAS was developed by Captain David Stirling; salutes those who have served in the SAS over the past six decades and registers its deep appreciation for their many acts of bravery in missions around the world, recognising that many lost their lives in the process; and gives its heartfelt thanks to current members of the SAS as they uphold the proud traditions which have made it the world's premier special forces team.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Paul Keetch03/12/2001HerefordLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Pound03/12/2001Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Bill Wiggin03/12/2001LeominsterConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle03/12/2001ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Russell03/12/2001ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Howarth03/12/2001AldershotConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire04/12/2001East DevonConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton04/12/2001MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Mark Tami04/12/2001Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Matthew Green04/12/2001LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable04/12/2001TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones04/12/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon04/12/2001Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Bob Spink04/12/2001Castle PointConservativeSigned
Martin Smyth04/12/2001Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Andrew Rosindell04/12/2001RomfordConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis05/12/2001New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Michael Mates05/12/2001East HampshireConservativeSigned
Tony Colman05/12/2001PutneyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds05/12/2001Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew George05/12/2001St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler06/12/2001North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock10/12/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams10/12/2001ConwyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/12/2001North DownUUPSigned
Jim Knight11/12/2001South DorsetLabourSigned
Russell Brown11/12/2001DumfriesLabourSigned
John Barrett11/12/2001Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs11/12/2001East AntrimUUPSigned
Jenny Tonge11/12/2001Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew12/12/2001StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jimmy Wray12/12/2001Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis12/12/2001Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Nigel Jones12/12/2001CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey12/12/2001North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson13/12/2001Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Edward Davey13/12/2001Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington17/12/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/12/2001Lagan ValleyUUPSigned
Paul Flynn18/12/2001Newport WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis18/12/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Gavin Strang21/05/2002Edinburgh East & MusselburghLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.