Parliament Website

Free Radio In Zimbabwe

EDM number 905 in 2001-02, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 27/02/2002.

That this House congratulates Gerry Jackson and her fellow Zimbabwean exiles who have set up S.W. Radio Africa in London to give Zimbabweans back home a free radio voice and transmit the only live, independent, and non-state controlled radio news to Zimbabwe, after their independent station in Harare was forcibly closed down by the police; and expresses the hope that their voice will be widely heard in Zimbabwe as a counter to the reign of terror unleashed by President Mugabe in his desperate efforts to suppress criticism, censor the truth and evade the free, fair, democratic verdict of the people on the economic and political chaos created by the one man rule of an old man in a hurry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Austin Mitchell27/02/2002Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Bob Russell28/02/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton28/02/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Paul Tyler28/02/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas28/02/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Harry Barnes28/02/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Andrew George28/02/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd28/02/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Julian Lewis28/02/2002New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Paul Holmes28/02/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth28/02/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Andrew MacKay28/02/2002BracknellConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson04/03/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Lynne Jones04/03/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/03/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams04/03/2002ConwyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon05/03/2002North DownUUPSigned
Derek Wyatt05/03/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray05/03/2002Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Tom Watson05/03/2002West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Roy Beggs05/03/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Terry Davis05/03/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Nigel Jones05/03/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugo Swire06/03/2002East DevonConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan06/03/2002Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Norman Lamb06/03/2002North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden06/03/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson07/03/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/03/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood07/03/2002Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
John McDonnell07/03/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael07/03/2002Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths07/03/2002BridgendLabourSigned
John Barrett07/03/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell07/03/2002Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lucas11/03/2002WrexhamLabourSigned
Rudi Vis11/03/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara11/03/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink11/03/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Michael Moore12/03/2002Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward O'Hara13/03/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly19/03/2002Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Philip Hammond25/03/2002Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Ian Taylor25/03/2002Esher & WaltonConservativeSigned
David Chidgey11/04/2002EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hendrick16/04/2002PrestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Adam Price23/04/2002Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Clarke08/05/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Wayne David09/05/2002CaerphillyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.