Parliament Website

The Demise Of Mail Rail

EDM number 1088 in 2002-03, proposed by Don Foster on 28/04/2003.

That this House regrets the demise of Royal Mail's historic and unique underground railway in London known as Mail Rail, dedicated to the transportation of letters and parcels across 23 miles of track running from Paddington to Whitechapel; notes the valuable service that Mail Rail provided by delivering an average of four million letters per day between nine dedicated stations including two mainline railway stations and four sorting offices; further regrets that Mail Rail is no longer financially viable; urges all parties involved to ensure its mothballing does not result in additional lorry journeys, congestion and pollution on London's streets; and calls on the Government to consider the legislative changes necessary to enable alternative use of the system so that this important piece of infrastructure can continue to benefit the capital.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Don Foster28/04/2003BathLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell29/04/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden29/04/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable29/04/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer29/04/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Edward Davey29/04/2003Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock29/04/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes29/04/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/04/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/04/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew George30/04/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas30/04/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Tyler30/04/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones01/05/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore01/05/2003HendonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon06/05/2003North DownUUPSigned
Eric Martlew06/05/2003CarlisleLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Brian Cotter07/05/2003Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Jane Griffiths07/05/2003Reading EastLabourSigned
Adam Price08/05/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson08/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/05/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/05/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Gregory Campbell12/05/2003East LondonderryDUPSigned
Rob Marris12/05/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Tom Brake13/05/2003Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan19/05/2003Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders19/05/2003TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes19/05/2003North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed19/05/2003South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington19/05/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell19/05/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Webb19/05/2003NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith20/05/2003Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Chidgey20/05/2003EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
David Rendel20/05/2003NewburyLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Moore21/05/2003Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke21/05/2003Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell21/05/2003Fife North EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Sue Doughty03/06/2003GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Green03/06/2003LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis04/06/2003Harrogate & KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker11/06/2003LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell16/06/2003RomfordConservativeSigned
Lembit 30/06/2003MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.