Parliament Website

Cyprus Green Line

EDM number 1116 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Dismore on 30/04/2003.

That this House welcomes the opening of the Green Line in Cyprus from 23rd April allowing thousands of Greek and Turkish Cypriots to cross to the other side to visit towns, villages, homes and friends for the first time for nearly 29 years and the announcement by the Cyprus Government of a package designed to improve conditions for the Turkish Cypriots; believes that the warmth of the hospitality received puts the lie to any claim that Greek and Turkish Cypriots cannot live together in a common country in the near future; notes that this partial lifting of restrictions follows the signing by president Papadopoulous at the Athens Summit on 16th April of the EU Accession Treaty, the huge Turkish Cypriot demonstrations in favour of a settlement and EU membership and the creative work of many bicommunal groups in preparing the ground for reunification; concludes that this reinforces the need, rather than substitutes, for a political settlement; and therefore urges Her Majesty's Government, working within the EU and the UN, to support this process of reconciliation, and work with the new government in Turkey in its attempt to make progress towards a Cyprus solution and its own route to EU membership, so that a permanent solution can be reached long before 1st May 2004 and a reunited Cyprus can join the European Union.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Andrew Dismore30/04/2003HendonLabourProposed
Valerie Davey30/04/2003Bristol WestLabourSigned
Tom Cox01/05/2003TootingLabourSigned
David Drew01/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Linda Perham01/05/2003Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/05/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing06/05/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Huw Edwards06/05/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Terry Davis06/05/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Ann Cryer06/05/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper06/05/2003Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones06/05/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bob Spink06/05/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Bob Russell06/05/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Judy Mallaber07/05/2003Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan07/05/2003Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Sydney Chapman07/05/2003Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin07/05/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hywel Francis07/05/2003AberavonLabourSigned
Simon Thomas07/05/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Betty Williams08/05/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Paul Tyler08/05/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn08/05/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara08/05/2003Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Love08/05/2003EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Simpson08/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Wayne David08/05/2003CaerphillyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara12/05/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burden12/05/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell12/05/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Patsy Calton13/05/2003CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd13/05/2003Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge15/05/2003Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
David Amess15/05/2003Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jackie Lawrence19/05/2003Preseli PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/05/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Lyons20/05/2003Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty20/05/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley22/05/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Berry22/05/2003KingswoodLabourSigned
Harold Best03/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright03/06/2003Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Barbara Roche02/07/2003Hornsey & Wood GreenLabourSigned
Brian Cotter17/07/2003Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan MealeUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.