Parliament Website

Malaysia And Anwar Ibrahim

EDM number 1131 in 2002-03, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 06/05/2003.

That this House registers its concern that the Malaysian Court of Appeal, in rejecting the former deputy prime minister Anwar Ibrahim's appeal against sodomy charges, has been criticised by a UN special envoy for compromising the independence and impartiality of the Malaysian justice system by, amongst other things, excluding senior judges from hearing the case; notes that previous trials were deemed not to have met international standards of fairness; further notes Anwar Ibrahim's deteriorating health in detention, including problems related to a serious back injury; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to impress upon the Malaysian government that the decision not to free Anwar Ibrahim represents another step in the further deterioration of the human rights situation in Malaysia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn06/05/2003Islington NorthLabourProposed
Ann Cryer07/05/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Win Griffiths07/05/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/05/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes07/05/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley07/05/2003Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Derek Wyatt07/05/2003Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Bob Spink08/05/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Jenny Tonge08/05/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn08/05/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew08/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Meale08/05/2003MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson08/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/05/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen12/05/2003Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Peter Bradley12/05/2003Wrekin, TheLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara12/05/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rob Marris12/05/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/05/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Terry Lewis13/05/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon13/05/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/05/2003GowerLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/05/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer22/05/2003Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mark Field13/06/2003Cities of London & WestminsterConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.