Parliament Website

Mr John Profumo

EDM number 1151 in 2002-03, proposed by Frank Field on 07/05/2003.

That this House, recalling the Norway Debate at the beginning of World War Two, wishes to record its thanks to John Profumo for using the first vote he cast in the House of Commons to unseat the Chamberlain Government; believes that his courage helped bring Winston Churchill to power, thereby ensuring the survival of this country; further notes that he is now the last surviving Conservative honourable Member to have voted against the Chamberlain Government in that fateful division on the evening of 8th May, 1940; and publicly salutes a gallant and honourable gentleman to whom this country owes a huge debt of gratitude.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Frank Field07/05/2003BirkenheadLabourProposed
Keith Simpson07/05/2003Mid NorfolkConservativeSigned
Nicholas Soames07/05/2003Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey07/05/2003VauxhallLabourSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody07/05/2003Crewe & NantwichLabourSigned
John Randall08/05/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Tim Loughton08/05/2003East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Gordon Marsden08/05/2003Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn08/05/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Paul Goodman08/05/2003WycombeConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton08/05/2003MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier12/05/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Sydney Chapman13/05/2003Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Terry Lewis13/05/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/05/2003GowerLabourSigned
Douglas Hogg14/05/2003Sleaford & North HykehamConservativeSigned
Jon Owen Jones14/05/2003Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hywel Francis14/05/2003AberavonLabourSigned
Andrew George14/05/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock14/05/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs14/05/2003East AntrimUUPSigned
Tom Clarke19/05/2003Coatbridge & ChrystonLabourSigned
John Cryer20/05/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Howarth22/05/2003Newport EastLabourSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Harold Best03/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis12/06/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Mohammad Sarwar16/06/2003Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.