Parliament Website

Proposed Closure Of Leicester Haymarket Theatre

EDM number 1300 in 2002-03, proposed by Jim Marshall on 03/06/2003.

That this House condemns the decision of the Leicester Haymarket Theatre Board to cease trading from the end of July 2003, leading to the closure of the regionally and nationally renowned Haymarket Theatre and the loss of 70 jobs; and calls upon the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport to bring together the interested parties, including the East Midlands Arts Council, Leicester City Council and the relevant trade unions, to agree a rescue package which can keep the theatre open and save these jobs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Jim Marshall03/06/2003Leicester SouthLabourProposed
Andy Reed03/06/2003LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Taylor03/06/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Tredinnick04/06/2003BosworthConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz04/06/2003Leicester EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn05/06/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Edward Garnier05/06/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Robert Key09/06/2003SalisburyConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer09/06/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Barnes09/06/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard10/06/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Colin Challen10/06/2003Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara10/06/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Terry Rooney10/06/2003Bradford NorthLabourSigned
Linda Perham10/06/2003Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan R Shaw10/06/2003Chatham & AylesfordLabourSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Harold Best11/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Norman Baker11/06/2003LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox11/06/2003TootingLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Greg Pope11/06/2003HyndburnLabourSigned
Eric Illsley12/06/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby18/06/2003Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Richard Burden19/06/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Harry Cohen19/06/2003Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Nigel Jones23/06/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner01/07/2003BolsoverLabourSigned
George Galloway02/07/2003Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Stephen Dorrell11/07/2003CharnwoodConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.