Parliament Website

Connex And Rail Privatisation

EDM number 1490 in 2002-03, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 30/06/2003.

That this House welcomes the decision by the Strategic Rail Authority to refuse to renew the franchise of the train operating company, Connex; is aware too that many other TOCs are performing equally poorly and that a number have been saved only by substantial handouts from the tax payer; believes that the Connex franchise should now be returned to public ownership and provide a basis for all the TOC franchises to be renationalised as part of a new state-owned and nationally integrated railway industry operating in the public interest and accountable to Parliament; and considers the Connex failure to be yet more evidence of the disaster of railway privatisation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins30/06/2003Luton NorthLabourProposed
Ian Davidson30/06/2003Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mike Wood30/06/2003Batley & SpenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing30/06/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Harold Best30/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes30/06/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Diane Abbott30/06/2003Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Ian Gibson30/06/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/06/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer30/06/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/06/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham30/06/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell30/06/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alice Mahon30/06/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Terry Lewis30/06/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Llew Smith30/06/2003Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Alan Simpson30/06/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Sedgemore30/06/2003Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Wray01/07/2003Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Desmond Turner01/07/2003Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
John Cummings01/07/2003EasingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones01/07/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner01/07/2003BolsoverLabourSigned
Terry Davis01/07/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
David Marshall02/07/2003Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/07/2003GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/07/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/07/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Simon Thomas02/07/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Rudi Vis03/07/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Chaytor07/07/2003Bury NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams07/07/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard07/07/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty07/07/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Hurst07/07/2003BraintreeLabourSigned
Bob Russell08/07/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin McNamara08/07/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Colin Burgon08/07/2003ElmetLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/07/2003Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourSigned
David Taylor09/07/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nigel Jones16/07/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Clarke10/09/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Adam Price15/09/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.