Parliament Website


EDM number 1551 in 2002-03, proposed by Harry Cohen on 08/07/2003.

That this House notes that recently, on the eve of the 'United Nations Day for Victims of Torture,' now free Tibetan political prisoner Ngawang Sangdrol visited this country to share with members of the Government, Parliament and the British people her first-hand experience of life in occupied Tibet in Chinese prisons since the age of 13; further notes that those who heard her were inspired by her bravery and dignity in the face of the torture she suffered and made aware that Tibetan political prisoners still continue to suffer at the hands of the Chinese authorities in Tibet; is aware that the Tibetans in exile and in the outside world have voiced grave concern about one-sided trials of Tibetan freedom fighters, including of three who were arrested in Tibet's capital Lhasa on 16th June; further notes that the Prime Minister Tony Blair will be visiting China later this month; and urges him directly to discuss the important issues of human rights and Chinese population transfer in Tibet and to make an earnest effort to seek honest commitment from the Chinese leadership that they will enter into meaningful negotiations with the Dalai Lama, who in 1989 was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for leading the non-violent Tibetan struggle for freedom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 73 MPs.

Harry Cohen08/07/2003Leyton & WansteadLabourProposed
Martin Smyth08/07/2003Belfast SouthIndependent Ulster UnionistSigned
John Wilkinson08/07/2003Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Norman Baker08/07/2003LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink09/07/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis09/07/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner09/07/2003Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge09/07/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer09/07/2003Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/07/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson09/07/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George09/07/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Annabelle Ewing09/07/2003PerthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Caton09/07/2003GowerLabourSigned
Richard Burden09/07/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/07/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon09/07/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Andrew MacKay09/07/2003BracknellConservativeSigned
Tim Loughton09/07/2003East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Terry Lewis09/07/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Tom Cox09/07/2003TootingLabourSigned
Ann Cryer10/07/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton10/07/2003MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Paul Keetch10/07/2003HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson10/07/2003Hampstead & HighgateLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/07/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Harry Barnes11/07/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/07/2003North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/07/2003ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Marsden14/07/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Davey14/07/2003Bristol WestLabourSigned
Barbara Follett14/07/2003StevenageLabourSigned
Steve Webb15/07/2003NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths15/07/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/07/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/07/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty15/07/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen15/07/2003Ynys MLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/07/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes15/07/2003North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan16/07/2003Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson16/07/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes16/07/2003Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Nigel Jones16/07/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael16/07/2003Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
David Curry16/07/2003Skipton & RiponConservativeSigned
Janet Dean16/07/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Harold Best16/07/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Hugo Swire16/07/2003East DevonConservativeSigned
Brian White16/07/2003North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Roger Williams16/07/2003Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler17/07/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett17/07/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan17/07/2003SelbyLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell17/07/2003RomfordConservativeSigned
Parmjit Dhanda17/07/2003GloucesterLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard17/07/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley08/09/2003RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart08/09/2003North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Simon Thomas08/09/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Hall08/09/2003BedfordLabourSigned
David Amess08/09/2003Southend WestConservativeSigned
Bill Etherington08/09/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Claire Curtis-Thomas08/09/2003CrosbyLabourSigned
Michael Moore08/09/2003Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Calum MacDonald08/09/2003Na h-Eileanan an IarLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz08/09/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones08/09/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/09/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Ainsworth11/09/2003East SurreyConservativeSigned
Adam Price15/09/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon16/09/2003North DownUUPSigned
Tony Clarke22/10/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.