Parliament Website

Access Of Free To Air Satellite Homes To Public Service Channels

EDM number 1577 in 2002-03, proposed by Chris Bryant on 10/07/2003.

That this House notes that the agreement between the BBC and BSkyB to provide owners of satellite equipment with free access to the encrypted public service channels expires on 10th July; notes that as a consequence free-to-air satellite viewers may shortly be denied access on their satellite equipment to ITV, Channel 4, Channel Five and S4C; recognises that while the great majority of these viewers will still be able to receive these services by switching to analogue terrestrial, many thousands of viewers will be deprived of some free-to-air public service channels they currently watch; and calls upon the Secretary of State to hold urgent discussions with BSkyB, the BBC and the other public service broadcasters to see how continuing access to public service channels for free-to-air satellite viewers can be facilitated.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Chris Bryant10/07/2003RhonddaLabourProposed
Dai Havard14/07/2003Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneyLabourSigned
Robert Walter14/07/2003North DorsetConservativeSigned
John Thurso14/07/2003Caithness, Sutherland & Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Huw Edwards14/07/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/07/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan14/07/2003Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Ian Lucas14/07/2003WrexhamLabourSigned
Bob Russell15/07/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch15/07/2003HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd15/07/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Albert Owen15/07/2003Ynys MLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing15/07/2003PerthScottish National PartySigned
Win Griffiths15/07/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Roger Williams16/07/2003Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/07/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Simon Thomas16/07/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock16/07/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Duncan16/07/2003Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Lembit 16/07/2003MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin McNamara16/07/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty16/07/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
David Laws16/07/2003YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones16/07/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson16/07/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/07/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Matthew Green17/07/2003LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler17/07/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett17/07/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard17/07/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Wayne David17/07/2003CaerphillyLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/07/2003GowerLabourSigned
Martyn Jones08/09/2003Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood08/09/2003Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Karen Buck08/09/2003Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington15/09/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Peter Pike16/09/2003BurnleyLabourSigned
Russell Brown29/10/2003DumfriesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.