Parliament Website

Return Of Parthenon Sculptures To Greece

EDM number 17 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Dismore on 13/11/2002.

That this House welcomes the recent visit to the United Kingdom of Evangelos Venizelos, Culture Minister of Greece; notes the Greek Government's proposals for the return of the Parthenon Marbles to the Acropolis, including retention of ownership by the British Museum, exhibition of the sculptures in Athens on behalf of both Greece and the United Kingdom in partnership, and the reciprocal loan of major exhibitions of Greek art and artefacts to the British Museum, exhibitions which would otherwise never be seen in the United Kingdom; notes the commencement of the construction of the new Acropolis museum, with a completion date of 2004, including gallery space specially designed to show the reunited Parthenon sculptures presently held in London and Athens in their original context; and calls on the Government to enter into meaningful discussions with the Greek Government for the return of the Parthenon sculptures to Greece in time for the Athens Olympic Games of 2004.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Andrew Dismore13/11/2002HendonLabourProposed
Linda Perham14/11/2002Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt14/11/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Brian White14/11/2002North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Andrew George14/11/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward O'Hara14/11/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders14/11/2002TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh14/11/2002SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Terry Davis14/11/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Rob Marris15/11/2002Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Paul Holmes18/11/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox18/11/2002TootingLabourSigned
Tony Banks19/11/2002West HamLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/11/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale19/11/2002MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Marsden19/11/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson20/11/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Andy Burnham20/11/2002LeighLabourSigned
Martin Caton20/11/2002GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/11/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean20/11/2002BurtonLabourSigned
Harry Barnes20/11/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge20/11/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams20/11/2002CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Drew21/11/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Michael Clapham21/11/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
David Lepper21/11/2002Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/11/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Colman28/11/2002PutneyLabourSigned
John Barrett02/12/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael03/12/2002Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Annabelle Ewing03/12/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Tony Clarke05/12/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/12/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway10/12/2002Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Nigel Jones16/12/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeff Ennis17/12/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2003Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott23/01/2003Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon27/01/2003North DownUUPSigned
John Mann28/01/2003BassetlawLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock03/02/2003Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Stephen Pound07/02/2003Ealing NorthLabourSigned
John Lyons07/02/2003Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
Julie Morgan24/02/2003Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Tony McWalter24/02/2003Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Angus Robertson03/03/2003MorayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Hurst16/10/2003BraintreeLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd30/10/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.