Parliament Website

Telephones For Older People

EDM number 1875 in 2002-03, proposed by Roy Beggs on 05/11/2003.

That this House notes with concern the increasing number of attacks on the homes of older people across the United Kingdom; further notes that everyone has the right to feel safe in their own home, therefore calls on the Government to provide and fit the homes of all pensioners, who cannot afford to do so themselves, with a telephone; and further calls on the Government to assist with the payment of monthly telephone line-rental bills, so that older people will feel more secure in their homes knowing they will be able to contact the police, relatives, friends or neighbours for assistance at any time.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Roy Beggs05/11/2003East AntrimUUPProposed
Syd Rapson05/11/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
John Robertson05/11/2003Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
Frank Roy05/11/2003Motherwell & WishawLabourSigned
Martin Smyth05/11/2003Belfast SouthIndependent Ulster UnionistSigned
Lady Hermon05/11/2003North DownUUPSigned
Jimmy Hood05/11/2003ClydesdaleLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle05/11/2003ChorleyLabourSigned
Rob Marris05/11/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Jim Marshall05/11/2003Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham05/11/2003Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Bill Tynan05/11/2003Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/11/2003GowerLabourSigned
Harry Barnes06/11/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin06/11/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Michael Clapham06/11/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Marsha Singh10/11/2003Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ann Cryer10/11/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Terry Davis10/11/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/11/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor10/11/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Robert Wareing11/11/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Paul Marsden11/11/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean11/11/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/11/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale11/11/2003MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Tami12/11/2003Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Rudi Vis12/11/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey12/11/2003West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mike Hancock12/11/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew12/11/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Clarke12/11/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara12/11/2003Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara12/11/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Iain Luke12/11/2003Dundee EastLabourSigned
Stephen Pound12/11/2003Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/11/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones13/11/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Huw Edwards13/11/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd17/11/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Tom Cox17/11/2003TootingLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing17/11/2003PerthScottish National PartySigned
David Hamilton17/11/2003MidlothianLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith18/11/2003Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.