Parliament Website

South African Asbestos Victims

EDM number 45 in 2002-03, proposed by Kevin McNamara on 13/11/2002.

That this House recalls the ú21 million settlement of the protracted legal action by 7,500 South African victims against British multinational company, Cape Plc; recognises that the victims are predominantly impoverished black former mineworkers who worked and lived at Cape's mines in the Northern Cape and Limpopo provinces under the apartheid regime where asbestos levels were dangerous and where the workers, many of whom were young children, who worked and lived in unprotected, dangerous conditions; notes that during the course of the litigation, and since, hundreds of the victims died; acknowledges the efforts that have been made by the South African Government, the victims' lawyers and prospective trustees, all of whom have given their time free of charge to implement the settlement; is dismayed that Cape has so far, failed to honour its obligation under the agreement, and, in particular has reneged on its commitment to pay the first ú11 million by June of this year; calls on Cape to accept responsibility for its past atrocities and settle the case without further delay; and urges Cape's shareholders, particularly Montpellier Ltd M and G Investment Management, Fidelity Investment International and Rutland Trust Plc, Cape's directors and bankers, Barclays and Royal Bank of Scotland now to recognise their moral and social duty to facilitate the earliest achievement of justice for these workers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Kevin McNamara13/11/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourProposed
Martin Caton13/11/2002GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer13/11/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Tony Worthington13/11/2002Clydebank & MilngavieLabourSigned
Ann McKechin14/11/2002Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara14/11/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed14/11/2002South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Terry Davis14/11/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly14/11/2002Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
John Battle14/11/2002Leeds WestLabourSigned
Desmond Turner14/11/2002Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Robert Wareing14/11/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt14/11/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/11/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris15/11/2002Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Tom Cox18/11/2002TootingLabourSigned
Win Griffiths18/11/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/11/2002ChorleyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz19/11/2002Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Chris McCafferty19/11/2002Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
John McFall19/11/2002DumbartonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Meale19/11/2002MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Weir19/11/2002AngusScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean20/11/2002BurtonLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge20/11/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs20/11/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Harry Barnes20/11/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/11/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andy Burnham20/11/2002LeighLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/11/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson20/11/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner20/11/2002BolsoverLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd20/11/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Eric Illsley21/11/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Michael Clapham21/11/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore21/11/2002HendonLabourSigned
David Drew21/11/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hugh Bayley21/11/2002York, City ofLabourSigned
Joan Walley21/11/2002Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Greg Pope25/11/2002HyndburnLabourSigned
David Borrow25/11/2002South RibbleLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/11/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby26/11/2002Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tony Colman28/11/2002PutneyLabourSigned
Betty Williams28/11/2002ConwyLabourSigned
John Barrett02/12/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Pike04/12/2002BurnleyLabourSigned
Alex Salmond04/12/2002Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Tony Clarke05/12/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/12/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bill Etherington05/12/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway10/12/2002Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross10/12/2002TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones16/12/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeff Ennis17/12/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Denzil Davies19/12/2002LlanelliLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing30/01/2003PerthScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson03/03/2003MorayScottish National PartySigned
John Lyons17/03/2003Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.