Parliament Website

FA Premier League Community Awards

EDM number 741 in 2002-03, proposed by Tom Watson on 13/02/2003.

That this House praises the FA Premier League for introducing its 10 Seasons Awards for Outstanding Contribution to the Community, an award that recognises the positive role of football in society and rewards the player who has made a particularly valuable contribution to the community; congratulates those nominated, namely John Barnes (Liverpool), Warren Barton (Newcastle United and Derby County), Dion Dublin (Aston Villa), Bryan Gunn (Norwich City), Gary Mabbutt (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Powell (Charlton Athletic), Niall Quinn (Sunderland), Lucas Radebe (Leeds United), David Unsworth (Everton) and Tommy Wright (Manchester City); believes that the award will be invaluable in recognising the unsung work of many top-flight players; and calls on the Premier League to establish the award as an annual event.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Tom Watson13/02/2003West Bromwich EastLabourProposed
Si13/02/2003Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Alan Keen13/02/2003Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/02/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis24/02/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood25/02/2003Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt25/02/2003Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Keith Vaz25/02/2003Leicester EastLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham25/02/2003WorkingtonLabourSigned
David Burnside25/02/2003South AntrimUUPSigned
Colin Burgon25/02/2003ElmetLabourSigned
Paul Marsden25/02/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones25/02/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Nick Hawkins25/02/2003Surrey HeathConservativeSigned
Bob Russell25/02/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson26/02/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
David Drew26/02/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn26/02/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle26/02/2003ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Spink27/02/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Paul Farrelly27/02/2003Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
David Marshall28/02/2003Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Harold Best28/02/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
David Stewart03/03/2003Inverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabourSigned
Nick Harvey04/03/2003North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Bailey04/03/2003West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Greg Pope06/03/2003HyndburnLabourSigned
Win Griffiths06/03/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/03/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones02/04/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Clarke15/05/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned
John Austin03/06/2003Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.