Parliament Website

Cyprus And Failure Of Un Peace Plan

EDM number 875 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Dismore on 12/03/2003.

That this House is saddened by the breakdown of the Cyprus talks in The Hague on Tuesday 11th March; welcomes the Republic of Cyprus President Papadopoulos's willingness to agree a referendum based on Annan 3, 'as long as people knew what they were being asked to vote on'; condemns Turkish Cypriot leader Mr Denktash's refusal to proceed to a referendum and his fundamental objections to Annan 3, based on his wish to start all over again on the basis of his outdated, and internationally rejected, demand for recognition, a strategy now rejected by an ever increasing number of Turkish Cypriots who remain on the island; notes the statements from the Common Vision, This Country is Ours and the majority of representatives in the Turkish Cypriot Assembly who demand that the referendum be held despite Mr Denktash's intransigence; believes this failure to be a major setback for Turkey's hopes of joining the European Union; nevertheless welcomes the Turkish Government's statement that efforts for a lasting peace will continue and the Greek Government's statement that the political will for peace remains alive; thanks Alvaro De Soto for his efforts to achieve a settlement; and supports any UN or EU initiative that would allow Turkey and the Cypriot communities to agree a Cyprus settlement before 1st May 2004 for the sake of all peace-loving Greek and Turkish Cypriots, Greeks and Turks, Cyprus as a whole and relations between Turkey and the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Andrew Dismore12/03/2003HendonLabourProposed
Chris Smith12/03/2003Islington South & FinsburyLabourSigned
Bob Spink12/03/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Sydney Chapman12/03/2003Chipping BarnetConservativeSigned
Valerie Davey12/03/2003Bristol WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/03/2003GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Terry Davis13/03/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Ann Cryer13/03/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/03/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham13/03/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara13/03/2003Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara13/03/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love13/03/2003EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mark Lazarowicz13/03/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones13/03/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Harry Cohen14/03/2003Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Robert Wareing14/03/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/03/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Austin14/03/2003Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Tom Cox14/03/2003TootingLabourSigned
Simon Hughes14/03/2003North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Perham14/03/2003Ilford NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper17/03/2003Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alice Mahon17/03/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Rob Marris18/03/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Paul Marsden18/03/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin18/03/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Colman19/03/2003PutneyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/03/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson20/03/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley20/03/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Tynan20/03/2003Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington25/03/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Vera Baird25/03/2003RedcarLabourSigned
Nigel Jones02/04/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.