Parliament Website

Future Of Manchester United Football Club

EDM number 1693 in 2003-04, proposed by Chris Grayling on 11/10/2004.

That this house notes the interest of American businessman, Malcolm Glazer, in taking over Manchester United Football Club; notes that while Manchester United is open to takeover as is any listed company, it is much more than a business and that it is an important part of the community in the North West and to the millions of people who support the club; notes the immense success nationally and internationally that the club has enjoyed under the managership of Sit Alex Ferguson; expresses its concern about any takeover proposal which would leave what is a debt-free club heavily indebted for the future; further notes the strength of feeling among supporters' groups, but calls on supporters to exercise restraint in those protests against Mr Glazer's proposals and to ensure that their actions are within the law; and calls upon Mr Glazer not to launch a bid unless he can clearly demonstrate that he will strengthen rather than weaken the club.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Chris Grayling11/10/2004Epsom & EwellConservativeProposed
Alistair Burt11/10/2004North East BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson12/10/2004StrangfordDUPSigned
Ann Winterton12/10/2004CongletonConservativeSigned
Nick Hawkins13/10/2004Surrey HeathConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss14/10/2004North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
David Ruffley15/10/2004Bury St EdmundsConservativeSigned
Paul Holmes18/10/2004ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman18/10/2004Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Terry Lewis19/10/2004WorsleyLabourSigned
Bill Olner19/10/2004NuneatonLabourSigned
Colin Burgon19/10/2004ElmetLabourSigned
Tim Loughton20/10/2004East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis20/10/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Bennett20/10/2004Denton & ReddishLabourSigned
Mark Field20/10/2004Cities of London & WestminsterConservativeSigned
David Drew20/10/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Dismore20/10/2004HendonLabourSigned
Edward Davey20/10/2004Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes20/10/2004Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith21/10/2004Morecambe & LunesdaleLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/10/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Barbara Follett21/10/2004StevenageLabourSigned
Sarah Teather21/10/2004Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox25/10/2004TootingLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell25/10/2004Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan25/10/2004SelbyLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham25/10/2004WorkingtonLabourSigned
Lorna Fitzsimons25/10/2004RochdaleLabourSigned
Patsy Calton26/10/2004CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans26/10/2004Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Janet Anderson26/10/2004Rossendale & DarwenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon27/10/2004North DownUUPSigned
Anne Campbell27/10/2004CambridgeLabourSigned
Matthew Green27/10/2004LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Taylor27/10/2004Truro & St AustellLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Davey28/10/2004Bristol WestLabourSigned
David Cameron28/10/2004WitneyConservativeSigned
Michael Mates28/10/2004East HampshireConservativeSigned
Barbara Roche01/11/2004Hornsey & Wood GreenLabourSigned
Chris Ruane01/11/2004Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
James Clappison01/11/2004HertsmereConservativeSigned
Richard Taylor01/11/2004Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Cheryl Gillan02/11/2004Chesham & AmershamConservativeSigned
Phil Sawford04/11/2004KetteringLabourSigned
Paul Stinchcombe08/11/2004WellingboroughLabourSigned
Ian Lucas09/11/2004WrexhamLabourSigned
Richard Allan11/11/2004Sheffield, HallamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dowd15/11/2004Lewisham WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.