Parliament Website

Field Studies Council:60th Anniversary

EDM number 229 in 2003-04, proposed by Valerie Davey on 08/12/2003.

That this House congratulates the Field Studies Council, the leading educational charity in the outdoor learning sector, on its 60th anniversary, welcomes the FSC's commitment to promoting field work amongst biology science students and to securing the encouragement of out-of-classroom activity for all GCSE biology students and a requirement for all A level biology students to have field experience in the first (AS) year; further congratulates the FSC in their efforts to stimulate the discussion of teaching methods used in the science curriculum and the requirement for teachers to be competent and confident in field environments; accepts the need for students to understand their living environment and stresses the vital contribution that out-of-classroom activity makes towards achieving this; extends to the FSC and its supporters every good wish for their continuing success; and hopes that the Department for Education and Skills and the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority will respond constructively to the calls for greater emphasis on field studies in the national curriculum.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Valerie Davey08/12/2003Bristol WestLabourProposed
Martin Smyth08/12/2003Belfast SouthIndependent Ulster UnionistSigned
Lynne Jones08/12/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/12/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Doug Naysmith08/12/2003Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Martin Caton08/12/2003GowerLabourSigned
Sue Doughty08/12/2003GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Harold Best08/12/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/12/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/12/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Matthew Green09/12/2003LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson09/12/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/12/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Terry Lewis09/12/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Paul Keetch09/12/2003HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink09/12/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon10/12/2003Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Colin Breed10/12/2003South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox10/12/2003TootingLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/12/2003Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Paul Flynn10/12/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Hywel Francis10/12/2003AberavonLabourSigned
Andrew George10/12/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones11/12/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler11/12/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths11/12/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Bill Etherington11/12/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Drew11/12/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Annette Brooke11/12/2003Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris11/12/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Huw Edwards11/12/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz15/12/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Marsden15/12/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Cook15/12/2003Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/12/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis17/12/2003Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/12/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Pete Wishart18/12/2003North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Robert Key18/12/2003SalisburyConservativeSigned
John McDonnell05/01/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/01/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner05/01/2004Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Tom Brake12/01/2004Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Bailey21/01/2004West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Randall22/01/2004UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Roger Williams02/02/2004Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.